Connect with us

Free Time

Hannibal Classic 2021, Ciao Pais and Nembo II win

Ciao Pais (1944) among Vintage Yachts and Nembo II (1964) among Classic Yachts won the fifth edition of the International Hannibal Classic – Memorial Sergio Sorrentino, the regatta that from 10th to 12th September 2021 gathered at Marina Hannibal in Monfalcone, also the main sponsor of the event, 36 vintage and classic yachts. Tiziana IV won the Sciarrelli and the Hannibal Classic Trophy, while Barcolana 50 won the Sparrows and Vilmy the Harpège. A double podium for Betelgeuse, which not only dominated the Alpa 9 but also won the Sergio Sorrentino Memorial. Also competing were Sorella del 1858 and Sagittario of the Italian Navy with the students of the Morosini School of Venice. The event was valid as the third leg of the Adriatic AIVE Cup 2021 and the first race of the newborn “Trofeo Challenge dei due Guidoni”, organized in collaboration with the Yacht Club Adriaco of Trieste.


36 participating boats, more than 200 crew members, 2 races held with sunshine, summer temperatures and light winds between 6 and 8 knots, 7 groups in which they were divided into the registered boats, a conference on seafaring, a gala dinner and an evocative string concert held aboard Sorella of 1858, the oldest cutter auric Mediterranean. These are the numbers of the fifth edition of the “International Hannibal Classic – Memorial Sergio Sorrentino”, the regatta for vintage and classic sails which took place from 10th to 12th September at Marina Hannibal in Monfalcone, main sponsor of the event. Here are the winners of the various categories: Ciao Pais (1944) among the ‘Vintage Yachts’, Nembo II (1964) among the ‘Classic Yachts’, Lua (1959) among the Open Classic, Barcolana 50 (2018) among the Sparrows and Vilmy (1971) among the Harpège. Tiziana IV (2002), in addition to winning in the Sciarrelli category, won for the second year in a row the Hannibal Classic Trophy, awarded to the first place overall in real time on the sum of the times of the two races. Betelgeuse (1968), first classified in the largest class (Open Classic), won the Sergio Sorrentino Memorial Trophy and dominated among the Alpa 9s. The event was organized by Yacht Club Hannibal ( with the participation of Società Nautica Laguna, the sponsorship of FIV, Italian Sailing Federation, CIM, International Committee of the Mediterranean, and the collaboration of AIVE, the Italian Association of Vintage Sails.


This year the “Trofeo Challenge dei due Guidoni” (Challenge Trophy of the two Guidons), realized in collaboration with the Yacht Club Adriaco of Trieste, will award the best classified boat in the largest class according to the combined score obtained in the two events ‘International Hannibal Classic’ and ‘Raduno Città di Trieste by Pacorini’ of next October 2-3. Supporters of the event were the Udine-based eyewear company W-eye, the Friuli Venezia Giulia Region, Armare Ropes (technical nautical ropes), Studio Attuariale Visintin & Associati and the Friuli-based company CRUNA DI SUBIDA_Wine Country House in Cormons, in the province of Gorizia, which, in addition to donating a few stays at their facility in the countryside, offered the wine for the gala dinner. To celebrate the first lustre of the event, the owner of W-eye Doriano Mattellone donated to each boat an exclusive limited edition model of sunglasses called ‘Mari 1938’, designed by Matteo Ragni Design studio, made with the wood of a vintage boat of the Thirties donated by the Francesco Del Carlo Shipyard of Viareggio.


Here are the 2021 rankings by category with the sailing club of membership indicated:

EPOCH YACHTS: Ciao Pais (STV) – Aria (YCA) – Serenity (C.V. Conegliano)

CLASSIC YACHTS: Nembo II (YCA) – HWYL (Sistiana 89) – Shahrazad (STV)

YACHTS Prog. CARLO SCIARRELLI: Tiziana IV (YCA) – HWYL (Sistiana 89) – Agos

OPEN CLASSIC: Lua (YCA) – Carina (S.N. Laguna) – Roberta III (S.N. Grignano)

PASSENGERS: Barcolana 50 (SVBG) – Aspasia – Pussycat (C.V. Ausonia)

ALPA 9: Betelgeuse (YCA) – Mau 3 (SVBG) – Teti (DVV)


Taking a cue from the concept of recycling and giving new life to the wood planking of a vintage sail, the trophies for the first places in each category were created for the Hannibal Classic with a satin crystal sail on wooden bases made from the planking of Sonja II, a rare example of 7 Metre International Tonnage of 1908 under restoration at the AA Custom Shipyard in Monfalcone. Among the “quayside” birthdays was that of Auriga, the 1971 Sciarrelli which, on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of its launch, created a commemorative bottle labelled with a painting of the boat by Trieste artist Lorenza Fonda.


“The 90 years of the Amerigo Vespucci and the historical sails of the Italian Navy”. This is the title of the conference themed seafaring held in the afternoon of Friday, September 10 by Captain Domenico La Faia of the Navy, which on this occasion brought greetings to the event of the Chief of Staff of the Navy, Admiral Giuseppe Cavo Dragone. An opportunity to discover the vintage naval force, always present at events of historic boats, and celebrate the 90th anniversary of the training ship Amerigo Vespucci, launched in 1931 in Castellammare di Stabia (NA) of which La Faia was commander. To do the honors for the public and the authorities the President of the Yacht Cub Hannibal, Sergio Lapo, the General Manager Loris Plet and the Austrian Hans-Peter Steinacher, double Olympic gold medalist in sailing and today CEO of Marina Hannibal. During the gala dinner on Saturday evening, washed down with Collio wines and in the presence of the Mayor of Monfalcone Anna Maria Cisint, the string duo composed by cellist Piero Politti and violinist Annalisa Clemente played music by Vivaldi, Veracini, Corelli and Strauss on board Sorella of 1858, moored and lit in front of the Club House.


The last two rounds of the AIVE Adriatic Cup 2021, composed annually of five events, will both be held in Trieste on October 2-3 on the occasion of the “XXIV Raduno Città di Trieste by Pacorini”, where the first “Challenge Trophy of the two Guidoni” will be awarded, and on October 9 on the occasion of the “Barcolana Classic”, where the seasonal winners will be announced.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Condividi - Share This